Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A former L.A. gang member describes his experiences in that world, recounting the sense of security and power found in a gang and the grim reality of violence and poverty

Product Details :

Genre Book : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author Book : Luis J. Rodriguez
Publisher : Turtleback Books
Release Book : 1999
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 0613013239


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This award-winning and bestselling classic memoir about a young Chicano gang member is now updated with a new Introduction and reading group guide.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Biography & Autobiography
Author Book : Luis J. Rodriguez
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Book : 2005-09-06
Download Book : 262 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780743276917


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In the tradition of The Autobiography of Malcolm X and Manchild in the Promised Land--an explosive memoir of hopelessness and resurrection that vividly portrays the brutality of barrio gang life. A timely exploration into the roots of Latino rage.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Gangs
Author Book : Luis J. Rodríguez
Publisher : Marion Boyars Publishers
Release Book : 1995
Download Book : 260 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0714530131


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The award-winning memoir of life in an LA street gang from the acclaimed Chicano author and former Los Angeles Poet Laureate: “Fierce, and fearless” (The New York Times). Luis J. Rodríguez joined his first gang at age eleven. As a teenager, he witnessed the rise of some of the most notorious cliques in Southern California. He grew up knowing only a life of violence—one that revolved around drugs, gang wars, and police brutality. But unlike most of those around him, Rodríguez found a way out when art, writing, and political activism gave him a new path—and an escape from self-destruction. Always Running spares no detail in its vivid, brutally honest portrayal of street life and violence, and it stands as a powerful and unforgettable testimonial of gang life by one of the most acclaimed Chicano writers of his generation. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Luis J. Rodríguez including rare images from the author’s personal collection.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Biography & Autobiography
Author Book : Luis J. Rodríguez
Publisher : Open Road Media
Release Book : 2012-06-12
Download Book : 262 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781453259085


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A former Los Angeles gang member describes his experiences.

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Luis Rodriguez
Publisher : Everbind
Release Book : 2009-07-01
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 0784810753


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Danny loves to use his super speed all the time, especially on the football field, but going too fast causes him some big problems.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Juvenile Fiction
Author Book : Nate LeBoutillier
Publisher : Capstone
Release Book : 2010-08-01
Download Book : 49 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781434228055


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the best-selling author of The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle and After Dark, a rich and revelatory memoir about writing and running, and the integral impact both have made on his life. In 1982, having sold his jazz bar to devote himself to writing, Haruki Murakami began running to keep fit. A year later, he’d completed a solo course from Athens to Marathon, and now, after dozens of such races, not to mention triathlons and a slew of critically acclaimed books, he reflects upon the influence the sport has had on his life and–even more important–on his writing. Equal parts training log, travelogue, and reminiscence, this revealing memoir covers his four-month preparation for the 2005 New York City Marathon and includes settings ranging from Tokyo’s Jingu Gaien gardens, where he once shared the course with an Olympian, to the Charles River in Boston among young women who outpace him. Through this marvellous lens of sport emerges a cornucopia of memories and insights: the eureka moment when he decided to become a writer, his greatest triumphs and disappointments, his passion for vintage LPs, and the experience, after the age of fifty, of seeing his race times improve and then fall back. By turns funny and sobering, playful and philosophical, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running is both for fans of this masterful yet guardedly private writer and for the exploding population of athletes who find similar satisfaction in distance running.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Biography & Autobiography
Author Book : Haruki Murakami
Publisher : Vintage Canada
Release Book : 2009-08-11
Download Book : 192 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780307373083


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

50 years of an iconic classic! This international bestseller and inspiration for a beloved movie is a heroic story of friendship and belonging. No one ever said life was easy. But Ponyboy is pretty sure that he's got things figured out. He knows that he can count on his brothers, Darry and Sodapop. And he knows that he can count on his friends—true friends who would do anything for him, like Johnny and Two-Bit. But not on much else besides trouble with the Socs, a vicious gang of rich kids whose idea of a good time is beating up on “greasers” like Ponyboy. At least he knows what to expect—until the night someone takes things too far. The Outsiders is a dramatic and enduring work of fiction that laid the groundwork for the YA genre. S. E. Hinton's classic story of a boy who finds himself on the outskirts of regular society remains as powerful today as it was the day it was first published. "The Outsiders transformed young-adult fiction from a genre mostly about prom queens, football players and high school crushes to one that portrayed a darker, truer world." —The New York Times "Taut with tension, filled with drama." —The Chicago Tribune "[A] classic coming-of-age book." —Philadelphia Daily News A New York Herald Tribune Best Teenage Book A Chicago Tribune Book World Spring Book Festival Honor Book An ALA Best Book for Young Adults Winner of the Massachusetts Children's Book Award

Product Details :

Genre Book : Young Adult Fiction
Author Book : S. E. Hinton
Publisher : Penguin
Release Book : 2012-05-15
Download Book : 208 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781101642610


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This is not just a book about running. It's a book about cupcakes. It's a book about suffering. It's a book about gluttony, vanity, bliss, electrical storms, ranch dressing, and Godzilla. It's a book about all the terrible and wonderful reasons we wake up each day and propel our bodies through rain, shine, heaven, and hell. From #1 New York Times best-selling author, Matthew Inman, AKA The Oatmeal, comes this hilarious, beautiful, poignant collection of comics and stories about running, eating, and one cartoonist's reasons for jogging across mountains until his toenails fall off. Containing over 70 pages of never-before-seen material, including "A Lazy Cartoonist's Guide to Becoming a Runner" and "The Blerch's Guide to Dieting," this book also comes with Blerch race stickers.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Humor
Author Book : The Oatmeal
Publisher : Andrews McMeel Publishing
Release Book : 2014-09-30
Download Book : 136 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781449461416


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Water rights
Author Book : New York (State). Supreme Court
Publisher :
Release Book : 1887
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : NYPL:33433087567776