Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In the thrilling new novel by the New York Times bestselling author of An Incomplete Revenge, Maisie Dobbs must catch a madman before he commits murder on an unimaginable scale It's Christmas Eve 1931. On the way to see a client, Maisie Dobbs witnesses a man commit suicide on a busy London street. The following day, the prime minister's office receives a letter threatening a massive loss of life if certain demands are not met—and the writer mentions Maisie by name. After being questioned and cleared by Detective Chief Superintendent Robert MacFarlane of Scotland Yard's elite Special Branch, she is drawn into MacFarlane's personal fiefdom as a special adviser on the case. Meanwhile, Billy Beale, Maisie's trusted assistant, is once again facing tragedy as his wife, who has never recovered from the death of their young daughter, slips further into melancholia's abyss. Soon Maisie becomes involved in a race against time to find a man who proves he has the knowledge and will to inflict death and destruction on thousands of innocent people. And before this harrowing case is over, Maisie must navigate a darkness not encountered since she was a nurse in wards filled with shell-shocked men. In Among the Mad, Jacqueline Winspear combines a heart-stopping story with a rich evocation of a fascinating period to create her most compelling and satisfying novel yet.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
Release Book : 2010-04-01
Download Book : 320 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1429919752


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

December 1931. The year is about to turn and one man is holding London to ransom.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Death threats
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher : John Murray Publishers
Release Book : 2010
Download Book : 339 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0719569915


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In the first comprehensive one-volume history of the treatment of the mentally ill, the foremost historian in the field compellingly recounts our various attempts to solve this ever-present dilemma from colonial times to the present. Gerald Grob charts the growth of mental hospitals in response to the escalating numbers of the severely and persistently mentally ill and the deterioration of these hospitals under the pressure of too many patients and too few resources. Mounting criticism of psychiatric techniques such as shock therapies, drugs, and lobotomies and of mental institutions as inhumane places led to a new emphasis on community care and treatment. While some patients benefited from the new community policies, they were ineffective for many mentally ill substance abusers. Grob’s definitive history points the way to new solutions. It is at once an indispensable reference and a call for a humane and balanced policy in the future.

Product Details :

Genre Book : History
Author Book : Gerald N. Grob
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Book : 1994-02-21
Download Book : 400 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781439105719


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In her fifth outing, Maisie Dobbs, the extraordinary Psychologist and Investigator, delves into a strange series of crimes in a small rural community With the country in the grip of economic malaise, and worried about her business, Maisie Dobbs is relieved to accept an apparently straightforward assignment from an old friend to investigate certain matters concerning a potential land purchase. Her inquiries take her to a picturesque village in Kent during the hop-picking season, but beneath its pastoral surface she finds evidence that something is amiss. Mysterious fires erupt in the village with alarming regularity, and a series of petty crimes suggests a darker criminal element at work. As Maisie discovers, the villagers are bitterly prejudiced against outsiders who flock to Kent at harvest time—even more troubling, they seem possessed by the legacy of a wartime Zeppelin raid. Maisie grows increasingly suspicious of a peculiar secrecy that shrouds the village, and ultimately she must draw on all her finely honed skills of detection to solve one of her most intriguing cases. Rich with Jacqueline Winspear's trademark period detail, this installment of the bestselling series, An Incomplete Revenge, is gripping, atmospheric, and utterly enthralling.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
Release Book : 2010-04-01
Download Book : 320 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1429924640


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Maisie Dobbs Bundle #2, An Incomplete Revenge and Among the Mad Books 5 and 6 in the New York Times Bestselling Series "An outstanding historical series . . . deeply empathetic." (The New York Times Book Review) An Incomplete Revenge, by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs novel #5) With the country in the grip of economic malaise, Maisie Dobbs is relieved to accept an apparently straightforward assignment to investigate a potential land purchase in a picturesque village in Kent. A peculiar secrecy shrouds the village, and ultimately Maisie must draw on her finely-honed skills of detection to solve one of her most intriguing cases yet. Among the Mad, by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs novel #6) On the way to see a client, Maisie Dobbs witnesses a man commit suicide on a busy London street. The following day, the Prime Minister's office receives a letter threatening a massive loss of life if certain demands are not met--and the writer mentions Maisie by name. Tapped by Scotland Yard's elite Special Branch to be a special adviser on the case, Maisie is soon involved in a race against time to find a man who proves he has the knowledge and will to inflict destruction on thousands of innocent people.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
Release Book : 2011-02-15
Download Book : 640 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781429994668


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In her first case, private detective Maisie Dobbs must investigate the reappearance of a dead man who turns up at a cooperative farm called the Retreat that caters to men who are recovering their health after World War I. A first novel. 30,000 first printing.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher : Soho Press
Release Book : 2003
Download Book : 294 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781569473306


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher :
Release Book : 2010
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 0857572709


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Offers a field guide to modern book collectors that covers both traditional and electronic methods of acquisition, discussing such topics as how to spot first or book club editions, working a book fair, dust jackets, and book handling. Reprint. 17,500 first printing.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Antiques & Collectibles
Author Book : Nicholas A. Basbanes
Publisher : Macmillan
Release Book : 2003-11
Download Book : 250 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0805074414


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A thrilling and dark new epic fantasy adventure begins, perfect for fans of Glen Cook and Joe Abercrombie. When Aoleyn loses her parents, she is left to fend for herself among a tribe of vicious barbarians. Bound by rigid traditions, she dreams of escaping to the world beyond her mountain home. The only hope for achieving the kind of freedom she searches for is to learn how to wield the mysterious power used by the tribe’s coven known as the Song of Usgar. Thankfully, Aoleyn may be the strongest witch to have ever lived, but magic comes at price. Not only has her abilities caught the eye of the brutish warlord that leads the tribe, but the demon of the mountain hunts all who wield the Coven’s power, and Aoleyn’s talent has made her a beacon in the night. Child of a Mad God is the first book in bestselling author R. A. Salvatore's The Coven series. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : R. A. Salvatore
Publisher : Tor Books
Release Book : 2018-02-06
Download Book : 368 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780765395283


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The second Maisie Dobbs mystery Jacqueline Winspear’s marvelous debut, Maisie Dobbs, won her fans from around the world and raised her intuitive, intelligent, and resourceful heroine to the ranks of literature’s favorite sleuths. Birds of a Feather, its follow-up, finds psychologist and private investigator Maisie Dobbs on another dangerously intriguing adventure in London “between the wars.” It is the spring of 1930, and Maisie has been hired to find a runaway heiress. But what seems a simple case at the outset soon becomes increasingly complicated when three of the heiress’s old friends are found dead. Is there a connection between the woman’s mysterious disappearance and the murders? Who would want to kill three seemingly respectable young women? As Maisie investigates, she discovers that the answers lie in the unforgettable agony of the Great War.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jacqueline Winspear
Publisher : Soho Press
Release Book : 2004-06-01
Download Book : 320 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781569476734