Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

For readers of Being Mortal and Modern Death, an ICU and Palliative Care specialist offers a framework for a better way to exit life that will change our medical culture at the deepest level In medical school, no one teaches you how to let a patient die. Jessica Zitter became a doctor because she wanted to be a hero. She elected to specialize in critical care—to become an ICU physician—and imagined herself swooping in to rescue patients from the brink of death. But then during her first code she found herself cracking the ribs of a patient so old and frail it was unimaginable he would ever come back to life. She began to question her choice. Extreme Measures charts Zitter’s journey from wanting to be one kind of hero to becoming another—a doctor who prioritizes the patient’s values and preferences in an environment where the default choice is the extreme use of technology. In our current medical culture, the old and the ill are put on what she terms the End-of-Life Conveyor belt. They are intubated, catheterized, and even shelved away in care facilities to suffer their final days alone, confused, and often in pain. In her work Zitter has learned what patients fear more than death itself: the prospect of dying badly. She builds bridges between patients and caregivers, formulates plans to allay patients’ pain and anxiety, and enlists the support of loved ones so that life can end well, even beautifully. Filled with rich patient stories that make a compelling medical narrative, Extreme Measures enlarges the national conversation as it thoughtfully and compassionately examines an experience that defines being human.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Medical
Author Book : Dr. Jessica Nutik Zitter, M.D.
Publisher : Penguin
Release Book : 2017-02-21
Download Book : 352 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781101982570


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Dr. Eric Najarian. He's young, talented, and ambitious. He has all the qualities they're looking for at White Memorial Hospital. He doesn't know he's being watched. Judged. An elite clique of medical professionals thinks he has what it takes to join their secret club. All the young doctor has to do is agree to play by their rules. But Eric has already seen too much. A missing corpse. An unspeakable mutilation. A brutal abduction. It's only the beginning of a plot of terrifying evil. A sinister plan the group will stop at nothing to hide. And if Eric refuses to become their colleague--he will be their next victim. From the Paperback edition.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Michael Palmer
Publisher : Bantam
Release Book : 2011-01-26
Download Book : 448 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0307781208


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER With Mitch Rapp away on assignment in Pakistan, CIA Director Irene Kennedy turns to his protege, Mike Nash. Nash has served his government honourably for sixteen years, first as an officer in the Marine Corps, then as an operative in an elite counterterrorism team run by Mitch Rapp, never wavering in his fight against the jihads and their culture of death. Fighting the War on Terror in secret, he has been forced to lie to everyone he cares about, including his wife and children. He has soldiered on secure in the knowledge that his hard work and lethal tactics have saved the lives of thousands. But the one thing he never saw coming was that his own government was about to turn on him. AMERICAN ASSASSIN, book one in the series, is soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Dylan O'Brien (Maze Runner), Taylor Kitsch (True Detective) and Michael Keaton. Praise for the Mitch Rapp series 'Sizzles with inside information and CIA secrets' Dan Brown 'A cracking, uncompromising yarn that literally takes no prisoners' The Times 'Vince Flynn clearly has one eye on Lee Child's action thriller throne with this twist-laden story. . . instantly gripping' Shortlist 'Action-packed, in-your-face, adrenalin-pumped super-hero macho escapist fiction that does exactly what it says on the label' Irish Independent 'Mitch Rapp is a great character who always leaves the bad guys either very sorry for themselves or very dead' Guardian

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Vince Flynn
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Book : 2009-01-05
Download Book : 448 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781847376282


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Along with reproduction, balancing energy expenditure with the limits of resource acquisition is essential for both a species and a population to survive. But energy is a limited resource, as we know well, so birds and mammals—the most energy-intensive fauna on the planet—must reduce energy expenditures to maintain this balance, some taking small steps, and others extreme measures. Here Brian K. McNab draws on his over sixty years in the field to provide a comprehensive account of the energetics of birds and mammals, one fully integrated with their natural history. McNab begins with an overview of thermal rates—much of our own energy is spent maintaining our 98.6?F temperature—and explains how the basal rate of metabolism drives energy use, especially in extreme environments. He then explores those variables that interact with the basal rate of metabolism, like body size and scale and environments, highlighting their influence on behavior, distribution, and even reproductive output. Successive chapters take up energy and population dynamics and evolution. A critical central theme that runs through the book is how the energetic needs of birds and mammals come up against rapid environmental change and how this is hastening the pace of extinction.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Science
Author Book : Brian K. McNab
Publisher : University of Chicago Press
Release Book : 2012-06-27
Download Book : 312 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780226561226


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A lively and unorthodox biography of one of the Victorian age's most eccentric and prolific scientific minds.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Eugenics
Author Book : Martin Brookes
Publisher : Bloomsbury Press
Release Book : 2004
Download Book : 298 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0747566666


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The work of seminal contemporary artist Chris Burden, insightfully contextualized around major themes, illuminates a practice that is as unique as it is influential. For four decades, Chris Burden’s work has redefined the boundaries of the sculptural field. Whether subjecting himself to extremes of physical suffering or reconfiguring forgotten urban objects and toy models to create potent signifiers of a time and place, the brute force of Burden’s work in the physical realm reverberates through the psychic one. On the occasion of the New Museum’s focused survey of Burden’s work, this book provides new perspectives on his art. Organized around themes like the Myth of the American West, the Institution, Gender Roles, and Model Making, the book reexamines preoccupations that span the artist’s long career.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Art
Author Book : Chris Burden
Publisher : Skira
Release Book : 2013
Download Book : 247 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780847841790


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

After his team member, Mike Nash, witnesses a terror attack in Washington, D.C., CIA superagent Mitch Rapp must pursue the al Qaeda terrorists responsible as he fights a covert war that can never be discussed, even with the government's own political leaders.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Vince Flynn
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Book : 2010-08-31
Download Book : 528 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781416595175


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Learning about an imminent terrorist attack, CIA operative Mitch Rapp takes the lead in a daring commando raid into northern Pakistan, where he obtains information about a planned nuclear attack but suspects that a greater threat has yet to be uncovered. By the author of Executive Power. Rreprint.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Vince Flynn
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Book : 2007-04-24
Download Book : 574 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781416548003


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Using her slight-of-hand tricks to win at cards, Faith O'Malley is forced to go up against notorious gambler Andre Du Bois, a dashing rogue who raises the stakes to a most sensual level. Original.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Renee Halverson
Publisher : Leisure Books
Release Book : 2002
Download Book : 306 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0843950625


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

For readers of Being Mortal and Modern Death, an ICU and Palliative Care specialist offers a framework for a better way to exit life that will change our medical culture at the deepest level In medical school, no one teaches you how to let a patient die. Jessica Zitter became a doctor because she wanted to be a hero. She elected to specialize in critical care—to become an ICU physician—and imagined herself swooping in to rescue patients from the brink of death. But then during her first code she found herself cracking the ribs of a patient so old and frail it was unimaginable he would ever come back to life. She began to question her choice. Extreme Measures charts Zitter’s journey from wanting to be one kind of hero to becoming another—a doctor who prioritizes the patient’s values and preferences in an environment where the default choice is the extreme use of technology. In our current medical culture, the old and the ill are put on what she terms the End-of-Life Conveyor belt. They are intubated, catheterized, and even shelved away in care facilities to suffer their final days alone, confused, and often in pain. In her work Zitter has learned what patients fear more than death itself: the prospect of dying badly. She builds bridges between patients and caregivers, formulates plans to allay patients’ pain and anxiety, and enlists the support of loved ones so that life can end well, even beautifully. Filled with rich patient stories that make a compelling medical narrative, Extreme Measures enlarges the national conversation as it thoughtfully and compassionately examines an experience that defines being human.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Medical
Author Book : Dr. Jessica Nutik Zitter, M.D.
Publisher : Penguin
Release Book : 2017-02-21
Download Book : 352 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781101982570