Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This definitive collection of fifteen Father Brown stories includes such classics as The Blue Cross, The Secret Garden, and The Paradise of Thieves.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Gilbert Keith Chesterton
Publisher : Random House Digital, Inc.
Release Book : 2005
Download Book : 258 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780812972221


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Shrewd and punctilious, with an intuitive awareness of the dark secrets of human nature gained in the confessional, Father Brown is well equipped to uncover the startling truth wherever murder, mayhem and mystery stalk society.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Brown, Father (Fictitious character)
Author Book : G. K. Chesterton
Publisher : Collector's Library
Release Book : 2003
Download Book : 456 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1904633056


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

G.K. Chesterton, one of the most prolific writers of the 20th century, is most famous for a series of mystery stories and novelettes that feature the Roman Catholic priest, Fr. Brown. Adapted for stage, radio and film, the Fr. Brown stories have proved to be enduringly popular. But like Chesterton's other work, what to many may seem like trivial short stories contain profound observations of the world, human character, philosophy, morality and religion. John Peterson, the editor of Father Brown of the Church of Rome, takes the reader through this first group of stories, giving valuable annotations as well as an introduction that gives a fascinating look at Chesterton's detective fiction. Fans of Father Brown and Chesterton will be delighted by this latest volume in the Collected Works.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Literary Collections
Author Book : Gilbert Keith Chesterton
Publisher : Collected Works of G.K. Cheste
Release Book : 2005-04
Download Book : 461 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1586170929


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“The Incredulity of Father Brown” is a 1926 collection of mystery short stories by English writer G. K. Chesterton. Set in the early twentieth century, each of the stories centres around the cunning investigations of Father Brown, an amateur detective who uses his incredible intuition to solve a variety of perplexing mysteries. The stories include: “The Resurrection of Father Brown”, “The Arrow of Heaven”, “The Oracle of the Dog”, “The Miracle of Moon Crescent”, “The Curse of the Golden Cross”, “The Dagger with Wings”, “The Doom of the Darnaways”, and “The Ghost of Gideon Wise”. Gilbert Keith Chesterton (1874–1936) was an English philosopher, theologian, writer, and critic. Born in London in 1874, he studied at the Slade School of Art and began to work as a freelance journalist after graduation. Over the course of his life, his literary output was incredibly diverse and highly prolific, ranging from philosophy and ontology to art criticism and detective fiction. However, he is probably best-remembered for his Christian apologetics, most notably in “Orthodoxy” (1908) and “The Everlasting Man” (1925). Read & Co. Classics is proudly republishing this classic work now in a new edition complete with a specially-commissioned new biography of the author.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : G. K. Chesterton
Publisher : Read Books Ltd
Release Book : 2020-09-08
Download Book : 206 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781528791373


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

'It would not be fair to record the adventures of Father Brown, without admitting that he was once involved in a grave scandal...It happened in a picturesque Mexican road-house of rather loose repute...' After many years in the priesthood, Father Brown knows human nature and is not afraid of its dark side. In this fifth and final series of mysteries, the clerical mastermind confronts slander, passion, radical politics, superstition, high crimes and misdemeanours, outwitting some quite extraordinary and villainous adversaries on the way. G. K. Chesterton was born in 1874. He attended the Slade School of Art, where he appears to have suffered a nervous breakdown, before turning his hand to journalism. A prolific writer throughout his life, his best- known books include The Napoleon of Notting Hill (1904), The Man Who Knew Too Much (1922), The Man Who Was Thursday (1908) and the Father Brown stories. Chesterton converted to Roman Catholicism in 1922 and died in 1938. 'Chesterton knew how to make the most of a detective story' Jorge Luis Borges

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : G. K. Chesterton
Publisher : Penguin UK
Release Book : 2014-01-02
Download Book : 160 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780141393353


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Here you will find the complete Father Brown stories in the chronological order of their original publication. - The Innocence of Father Brown - The Wisdom of Father Brown - The Donnington Affair - The Incredulity of Father Brown - The Secret of Father Brown - The Scandal of Father Brown - The Mask of Midas

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : G. K. Chesterton
Publisher : MVP
Release Book : 2019-07-19
Download Book : 150 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9782291074892


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The fourth collection of Father Brown stories featuring the ingenious amateur detective. Ahead of a new series of the popular BBC adaptation starring Mark Williams, all five of Chesterton's original Father Brown books have been republished with charming and collectible Penguin covers. 'You see, I had murdered them all myself ... I had thought out exactly how a thing like that could be done, and in what style or state of mind a man could really do it. And when I was quite sure that I felt exactly like the murderer myself, of course I knew who he was.' Unassuming super-sleuth Father Brown has such brilliant powers of deduction that he knows more about crime than the criminals themselves. In this fourth volume of stories, the shabby priest unravels the most baffling conundrums involving, among others, a flying fish, a man with two beards and the Worst Crime in the World. G. K. Chesterton was born in 1874. He attended the Slade School of Art, where he appears to have suffered a nervous breakdown, before turning his hand to journalism. A prolific writer throughout his life, his best- known books include The Napoleon of Notting Hill (1904), The Man Who Knew Too Much (1922), The Man Who Was Thursday (1908) and the Father Brown stories. Chesterton converted to Roman Catholicism in 1922 and died in 1938. 'Chesterton knew how to make the most of a detective story' Jorge Luis Borges

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : G. K. Chesterton
Publisher : Penguin UK
Release Book : 2014-01-02
Download Book : 160 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780141393339


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In spite of the quiet setting, Bardo County in the American Midwest enjoys a lot of murders, and there is only person who is able to solve them: an old priest in his 90’s, serving as the Assistant Pastor as St. Dominic’s parish. His name is Father Brown. John Peterson has taken his expertise on the famous priest-sleuth and spun it into 44 irresistible short stories that will baffle you till each startling solution. It’s great to see Father Brown still in action. ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ “A jewel, a treasure, a thing to be enjoyed again and again.” —G.J. MEYER, award-winning author of "A World Undone: The Story of the Great War" “Father Brown made his fame by being quite ordinary; he is as plain as a Norfolk dumpling. In these new stories, despite his age and his need for a cane, his mind continues to be as sharp as a tack, his powers of reasoning clear, his moral fiber, well, fibrous.” —NANCY CARPENTIER-BROWN, author of "The Father Brown Reader" and other books about Chesterton’s famous detective-priest. “Criminals from the merely inept to the fiendishly clever, beware: Father Brown is very much alive and on your tail in Bardo County.” —THERESE WARMUS, Literary Editor, Gilbert Magazine From “THE EXACT TIME”: "Father Brown did not own a watch and he never used an alarm clock. He simply woke up about five in the morning each day as a matter of long habit. The day of the murder was no exception. After dressing, he climbed down the stairs of the rectory and, leaning a bit on his knobby cane, trudged the few steps to the church. After taking out a key to unlock the front door of the church, the old priest heard something that gave him pause. "Father Brown was getting a bit deaf, but he was quite sure he had just heard a gunshot. He turned around, but he could not see much in the darkness. The lighted clock-face in the tower of the First National Bank building stood out starkly in the gloom, and he saw that it was exactly twenty-five minutes after five. Father Brown entered the church."

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : John Peterson
Publisher : TAN Books
Release Book : 2015-06-09
Download Book : 179 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781505104745


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This unique collection of Father Brown mysteries links tales by G.K. Chesterton with the Ten Commandments. The connection is often surprising, however, for the criminal is not necessarily the worst sinner in the story, nor is his crime necessarily the worst offense. When Chesterton created the character of Father Brown, he brought a new dimension to mystery stories--the distinction between crime and sin. As the priest-detective applies his powers of observation to solve a case, he picks up clues about other offenses, such as those against the Sabbath or one's parents. Father Brown's main concern is not the laws of the State but the Commandments of God. As Dorothy Sayers once wrote, G.K. Chesterton was "the first man of our time to introduce the great name of God into a detective story . . . to enlarge the boundaries of the detective story by making it deal with death and real wickedness and real, that is to say, divine judgment." This edition includes footnotes not available in other versions, which help to clarify the literary and historical allusions made by Father Brown. It is based on the texts of Chesterton's original editions, for assurance of authenticity, and is set in easily readable type. "John Peterson is the world's greatest expert on Chesterton's famous priest-detective. His presentation of these particular Father Brown stories only adds to their craftiness and profundity." — Dale Ahlquist, President, American Chesterton Society

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : John Peterson
Publisher : Ignatius Press
Release Book : 2017-03-23
Download Book : 255 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781681496481


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Beloved clerical sleuth in roster of remarkable cases: "The Blue Cross," "The Sins of Prince Saradine," "The Sign of the Broken Sword," "The Man in the Passage," "The Perishing of the Pendragons," more.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : G. K. Chesterton
Publisher : Courier Corporation
Release Book : 2012-03-27
Download Book : 96 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780486115221