Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Necessary Trouble is the definitive book on the movements that are poised to permanently remake American politics. We are witnessing a moment of unprecedented political turmoil and social activism. Over the last few years, we've seen the growth of the Tea Party, a twenty-first-century black freedom struggle with BlackLivesMatter, Occupy Wall Street, and the grassroots networks supporting presidential candidates in defiance of the traditional party elites. Sarah Jaffe leads readers into the heart of these movements, explaining what has made ordinary Americans become activists. As Jaffe argues, the financial crisis in 2008 was the spark, the moment that crystallized that something was wrong. For years, Jaffe crisscrossed the country, asking people what they were angry about, and what they were doing to take power back. She attended a people's assembly in a church gymnasium in Ferguson, Missouri; walked a picket line at an Atlanta Burger King; rode a bus from New York to Ohio with student organizers; and went door-to-door in Queens days after Hurricane Sandy. From the successful fight for a 15 minimum wage in Seattle and New York to the halting of Shell's Arctic drilling program, Americans are discovering the effectiveness of making good, necessary trouble. Regardless of political alignment, they are boldly challenging who wields power in this country.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Political Science
Author Book : Sarah Jaffe
Publisher : Bold Type Books
Release Book : 2016-08-23
Download Book : 352 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781568585376


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This book argues that some of the most important deviants have been at the forefront of positive social change and the creation of a more just, fair, and humane society.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Social Science
Author Book : Brian Wolf
Publisher : Lexington Books
Release Book : 2019-05-24
Download Book : 208 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781498563451


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Electronic instruments
Author Book :
Publisher :
Release Book : 1988
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : UVA:X004881033


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice Finalist for the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize In the wake of Donald Trump's victory in the 2016 presidential election, a deeply reported look inside the conservative movement working to undermine American democracy. Donald Trump is the second Republican this century to triumph in the Electoral College without winning the popular vote. As Zachary Roth reveals in The Great Suppression, this is no coincidence. Over the last decade, Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money. It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing: a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy—and they’re doing everything they can to limit it. In The Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us to its modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working to ban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment. And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues. A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppression is an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Political Science
Author Book : Zachary Roth
Publisher : Crown
Release Book : 2016-08-02
Download Book : 256 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781101905784


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

What does this notebook contain? ✓ 114 dot grid pages, which offer enough space for notes, thoughts or projects ✓ Flexible softcover with matt finish ✓ Available in 6x9 inch format ✓ High-quality paper Whether as a notebook, diary or project planner, this notebook can be used universally. Perfect as a gift for any gift giving occasion like name days, birthdays or Christmas. Place this book in your shopping cart now

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Will Osinski
Publisher :
Release Book : 2020-11-13
Download Book : 114 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9798564240512


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A look at what both our successes and failures in preaching can tell us about how to craft better sermons. Paul Wilson has long been one of the most important figures among those who seek a richer and more complete understanding of what preaching is, and how it might be made better. In this new book he draws on his broad and deep work in homiletics to show preachers how to craft a variety of types of sermons. How do you preach from the Old Testament? What are the particular needs and challenges of preaching the Good Friday, and then the Easter, sermon? What do you do when you want to address contemporary events? Recognizing that all sermons are in some ways "broken words," he includes in each chapter an illustrative sermon, some of which work well, yet others of which don't. If you stand in the pulpit long, he reminds us, you're going to preach your share of both. You would do well to learn, then, how either kind of sermon--the ones you're proud of and the ones you want to forget--can provide ample opportunities to learn how to be a more effective and faithful preacher of the gospel. Readers will learn how to vary the sources, styles, and substance of their sermons. Key Benefits: Will empower the reader to move outside their comfort zone in preaching, thus engaging the broader possibilities for preaching; Will help the reader to learn how to assess both their strong and weak sermons, and learn from each.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Religion
Author Book : Paul Scott Wilson
Publisher : Abingdon Press
Release Book : 2010-09-01
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781426720857


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A bracingly provocative challenge to one of our most cherished ideas and institutions Most people believe democracy is a uniquely just form of government. They believe people have the right to an equal share of political power. And they believe that political participation is good for us—it empowers us, helps us get what we want, and tends to make us smarter, more virtuous, and more caring for one another. These are some of our most cherished ideas about democracy. But Jason Brennan says they are all wrong. In this trenchant book, Brennan argues that democracy should be judged by its results—and the results are not good enough. Just as defendants have a right to a fair trial, citizens have a right to competent government. But democracy is the rule of the ignorant and the irrational, and it all too often falls short. Furthermore, no one has a fundamental right to any share of political power, and exercising political power does most of us little good. On the contrary, a wide range of social science research shows that political participation and democratic deliberation actually tend to make people worse—more irrational, biased, and mean. Given this grim picture, Brennan argues that a new system of government—epistocracy, the rule of the knowledgeable—may be better than democracy, and that it's time to experiment and find out. A challenging critique of democracy and the first sustained defense of the rule of the knowledgeable, Against Democracy is essential reading for scholars and students of politics across the disciplines. Featuring a new preface that situates the book within the current political climate and discusses other alternatives beyond epistocracy, Against Democracy is a challenging critique of democracy and the first sustained defense of the rule of the knowledgeable.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Philosophy
Author Book : Jason Brennan
Publisher : Princeton University Press
Release Book : 2017-09-26
Download Book : 312 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781400888399


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Law reports, digests, etc
Author Book : Cape of Good Hope (South Africa). Court of the Eastern Districts
Publisher :
Release Book : 1883
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : UOM:35112103042737


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what? Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real. "Tensions are high over the trial of a police officer who shot an unarmed Black man. When the officer is set free, and Shay goes with her family to a silent protest, she starts to see that some trouble is worth making." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

Product Details :

Genre Book : Juvenile Fiction
Author Book : Lisa Moore Ramée
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release Book : 2019-03-12
Download Book : 384 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780062836700


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The glittering lives of billionaires may seem like a harmless source of entertainment. But such concentrated economic power reverberates throughout society, threatening the quality of life and the very functioning of democracy. It's no accident that the United States claims the most billionaires—but suffers among the highest rates of infant mortality and crime, the shortest life expectancy, as well as the lowest rates of social mobility and electoral political participation in the developed world. Our society tends to regard large fortunes as evidence of great talent or accomplishment. Yet the vast new wealth isn't due to an increase in talent or effort at the top, but rather to changing social attitudes legitimizing greed and government policy changes that favour the new elite. Authoritative and eye-opening, The Trouble with Billionaires will spark debate about the kind of society we want.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Business & Economics
Author Book : Linda McQuaig
Publisher : Penguin Canada
Release Book : 2010-09-14
Download Book : 304 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780143178866