Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The “powerful” (Michelle Alexander) exploration—featured by The Atlantic, Essence, the Washington Post, New York magazine, NPR, and others—of the harsh and harmful experiences confronting Black girls in schools In a work that Lisa Delpit calls “imperative reading,” Monique W. Morris (Black Stats, Too Beautiful for Words) chronicles the experiences of Black girls across the country whose intricate lives are misunderstood, highly judged—by teachers, administrators, and the justice system—and degraded by the very institutions charged with helping them flourish. Called “compelling” and “thought-provoking” by Kirkus Reviews, Pushout exposes a world of confined potential and supports the rising movement to challenge the policies, practices, and cultural illiteracy that push countless students out of school and into unhealthy, unstable, and often unsafe futures. Called a book “for everyone who cares about children” by the Washington Post, Morris’s illumination of these critical issues is “timely and important” (Booklist) at a moment when Black girls are the fastest growing population in the juvenile justice system. Praised by voices as wide-ranging as Gloria Steinem and Roland Martin, and highlighted for the audiences of Elle and Jet right alongside those of EdWeek and the Leonard Lopate Show, Pushout is a book that “will stay with you long after you turn the final page” (Bookish).

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Monique Morris
Publisher : The New Press
Release Book : 2018-01-16
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781620974131


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Fifteen-year-old Diamond stopped going to school the day she was expelled for lashing out at peers who constantly harassed and teased her for something everyone on the staff had missed: she was being trafficked for sex. After months on the run, she was arrested and sent to a detention center for violating a court order to attend school. Just 16 percent of female students, Black girls make up more than one-third of all girls with a school-related arrest. The first trade book to tell these untold stories, Pushout exposes a world of confined potential and supports the growing movement to address the policies, practices, and cultural illiteracy that push countless students out of school and into unhealthy, unstable, and often unsafe futures. For four years Monique W. Morris, author of Black Stats, chronicled the experiences of black girls across the country whose intricate lives are misunderstood, highly judged—by teachers, administrators, and the justice system—and degraded by the very institutions charged with helping them flourish. Morris shows how, despite obstacles, stigmas, stereotypes, and despair, black girls still find ways to breathe remarkable dignity into their lives in classrooms, juvenile facilities, and beyond.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Monique W. Morris
Publisher : New Press, The
Release Book : 2016-03-29
Download Book : 256 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781620971208


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Black girls represent 16 percent of female students but almost half of all girls with a school-related arrest. The first trade book to tell these untold stories, Pushout [explores] a world of confined potential and supports the growing movement to address the policies, practices, and cultural illiteracy that push countless students out of school and into unhealthy, unstable, and often unsafe futures"--

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Monique Morris
Publisher : New Press, The
Release Book : 2016-03-29
Download Book : 256 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781620970942


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Winner of the 2013 American Educational Studies Association's Critics Choice Award! Recent efforts to reform urban high schools have been marked by the pursuit of ever-increasing accountability policies, most notably through the use of high-stakes standardized testing, mayoral control, and secondary school exit exams. Urban Youth and School Pushout excavates the unintended consequences of such policies on secondary school completion by focusing specifically on the use and over-use of the GED credential. Building on a tradition of critical theory and political economy of education, author Eve Tuck offers a provocative analysis of how accountability tacitly and explicitly pushes out under-performing students from the system. By drawing on participatory action research, as well as the work of indigenous scholars and theories, this theoretically and empirically rich book illustrates urban public schooling as a dialectic of humiliating ironies and dangerous dignities. Focusing on the experiences of youth who have been pushed out of their schools under the auspices of obtaining a GED, Tuck reveals new insights on how urban youth view accountability schooling, value the GED, and yearn for multiple, meaningful routes to graduation.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Eve Tuck
Publisher : Routledge
Release Book : 2012-03-15
Download Book : 186 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781136813825


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book :
Publisher :
Release Book : 2018
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : OCLC:1032094829


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This book describes the functional properties and the structural organization of the members of the thrombospondin gene family. These proteins comprise a family of extracellular calcium binding proteins that modulate cellular adhesion, migration and proliferation. Thrombospondin-1 has been shown to function during angiogenesis, wound healing and tumor cell metastasis.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Computers
Author Book : Janice Cuny
Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
Release Book : 1996-05-08
Download Book : 564 Pages
ISBN-10 : 3540612289


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book :
Publisher :
Release Book : 1990
Download Book : 18 Pages
ISBN-10 : NASA:31769000589153


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Across the United States, there has been increasing attention to school pushout, the application of harsh and exclusionary discipline of marginalized students that contributes to school dropout and/or justice system-involvement. While a growing body of research demonstrates the school-to-prison pipeline for youth of color, only one study so far has documented the disparity in school and criminal justice sanctions between lesbian, gay, and bisexual (LGB) youth and their heterosexual peers (Himmelstein & Bruckner, 2011). Additionally, a recent national school climate survey found that LGBTQ youth were more than twice as likely as their non-LGBTQ peers to report they did not plan to finish high school, and that these expectations were tied to disproportionate school discipline, a hostile school climate, mental health concerns, discriminatory school policies, and the effect of safety and discomfort on student attendance and academic performance (GLSEN, 2016). However, no empirical research to date has looked at actual disparities in high school graduation among LGB youth. This study uses data from the National Longitudinal Survey on Adolescent and Adult Health (Add Health) to look at this disparity. The dependent variable for the logit regression is high school graduation by age 32 and the key independent variable is sexual orientation, with "non-heterosexual" being defined as having ever been attracted to the same gender, dating someone of the same gender, or describing oneself as gay, mostly gay, or bisexual. Holding constant for race, gender, socioeconomics, academic achievement, grade retention, and school absences, the findings provide modest evidence that non-heterosexual youth are 4 percentage points less likely, on average, to graduate high school (p = .05). The study also finds that controlling for potential mechanisms of this disparity such as experiences of victimization, school belongingness, skipping school, parental connectedness, expulsion and arrest, makes the relationship between being non-heterosexual and graduating high school indistinguishable from zero.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Caroline Cragin
Publisher :
Release Book : 2019
Download Book : 86 Pages
ISBN-10 : OCLC:1108335996


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A groundbreaking and visionary call to action on educating and supporting girls of color, from the highly acclaimed author of Pushout "Monique Morris is a personal shero of mine and a respected expert in this space." —Ayanna Pressley, U.S. congresswoman and the first woman of color elected to Boston's city council Wise Black women have known for centuries that the blues have been a platform for truth-telling, an underground musical railroad to survival, and an essential form of resistance, healing, and learning. In her highly anticipated follow-up to the widely acclaimed Pushout on the criminalization of black girls in schools, Monique W. Morris invokes the spirit of the blues to articulate a radically healing and empowering pedagogy for Black and Brown girls. A passionate manifesto that builds naturally on her previous book, Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues reimagines what education might look like if schools placed the flourishing of Black and Brown girls at their center. Grounding each chapter in interviews, case studies, and testimonies of educators who work successfully with girls of color, Morris blends research with real life to offer a radiant manifesto on moving away from punishment, trauma, and discrimination toward safety, justice, and genuine community in our schools. In the tradition of For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood and Other People’s Children, Morris’s new book is a clarion call—for educators, parents, students, and anyone who has a stake in a better tomorrow—to transform schools into places where learning and collective healing can flourish.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Monique W. Morris
Publisher : The New Press
Release Book : 2019-08-27
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781620974001


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

By presenting state-of-the-art research results on various aspects of formal and visual modeling of software and systems, this book commemorates the 60th birthday of Hartmut Ehrig. The 24 invited reviewed papers are written by students and collaborators of Hartmut Ehrig who are established researchers in their fields. Reflecting the scientific interest and work of Hartmut Ehrig, the papers fall into three main parts on graph transformation, algebraic specification and logic, and formal and visual modeling.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Mathematics
Author Book : Hans-Jörg Kreowski
Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
Release Book : 2005-02-09
Download Book : 420 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9783540249368