Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

One of our country's most acclaimed and beloved entertainers, Steve Martin has written a novella that is unexpectedly perceptive about relationships and life. Martin is profoundly wise when it comes to the inner workings of the human heart. Mirabelle is the "shopgirl" of the title, a young woman, beautiful in a wallflowerish kind of way, who works behind the glove counter at Neiman Marcus "selling things that nobody buys anymore . . ." Slightly lost, slightly off-kilter, very shy, Mirabelle charms because of all that she is not: not glamorous, not aggressive, not self-aggrandizing. Still there is something about her that is irresistible. Mirabelle captures the attention of Ray Porter, a wealthy businessman almost twice her age. As they tentatively embark on a relationship, they both struggle to decipher the language of love--with consequences that are both comic and heartbreaking. Filled with the kind of witty, discerning observations that have brought Steve Martin critical success, Shopgirl is a work of disarming tenderness.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Steve Martin
Publisher : Hachette Books
Release Book : 2001-07-01
Download Book : 144 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780786871643


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

It all started as a joke or possibly a dare, but either way Brianna Benton found herself a wildly successful author, writing books about characters that bored her silly ... or silly characters who bored her. Her only conciliation was that she felt she was in good company with legendary authors Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle. Doyle wanted to kill off Holmes so he could go on to "better things" and Christie described Poirot as "an insufferable egocentric creep" - but their reading public wouldn't let them eliminate their legendary characters ... and neither would Brianna's.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Arlene Hill
Publisher : Lulu.com
Release Book : 2016-09-14
Download Book : 204 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781365287701


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

At 30 years old Erika Leib's personal hardships have stalled her into a mundane life of safety and security. Not that she spends much time thinking about it like that. She's underemployed at a job that probably should appreciate her more but that is hardly uncommon. She's got a halfway decent, sort of relationship with no pressure to make a larger commitment and a family who loves her. Plus she's got Rachel- her best friend, confidant, the person who's always been there for her and always will be. It's not where she thought she'd be but she's content. That all changed, however, after her chance meeting with actor, Xavier James. Soon Erika begins to re-evaluate her own worth and must decide if she's ready to rediscover the girl who once would leap without thinking or if she's prepared to stay just another shopgirl. Loaded with good food and fueled by the importance of good friendships, the book is like Sex and the City for a generation that could never afford the extravagance Carrie and Co. promised

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Elisa Gabrielle Donahue
Publisher : Follow It Thru
Release Book : 2019-03-25
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781513647449


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

One of our country's most acclaimed and beloved entertainers, Steve Martin has written a novella that is unexpectedly perceptive about relationships and life. Martin is profoundly wise when it comes to the inner workings of the human heart. Mirabelle is the "shopgirl" of the title, a young woman, beautiful in a wallflowerish kind of way, who works behind the glove counter at Neiman Marcus "selling things that nobody buys anymore . . ." Slightly lost, slightly off-kilter, very shy, Mirabelle charms because of all that she is not: not glamorous, not aggressive, not self-aggrandizing. Still there is something about her that is irresistible. Mirabelle captures the attention of Ray Porter, a wealthy businessman almost twice her age. As they tentatively embark on a relationship, they both struggle to decipher the language of love--with consequences that are both comic and heartbreaking. Filled with the kind of witty, discerning observations that have brought Steve Martin critical success, Shopgirl is a work of disarming tenderness.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Steve Martin
Publisher : Hachette Books
Release Book : 2001-07-01
Download Book : 144 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780786871643


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Consumers
Author Book : Julie K. Guidera
Publisher :
Release Book : 2002
Download Book : 180 Pages
ISBN-10 : OCLC:51035455


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"In Consuming Fantasies: Labor, Leisure, and the London Shopgirl, 1880-1920, Lise Shapiro Sanders examines the cultural significance of the shopgirl - both historical figure and fictional heroine - from the end of Queen Victoria's reign through the First World War. As the author reveals, the shopgirl embodied the fantasies associated with a growing consumer culture: romantic adventure, upward mobility, and the acquisition of material goods. Reading novels such as George Gissing's The Odd Women and W. Somerset Maugham's Of Human Bondage as well as short stories, musical comedies, and films, Sanders argues that the London shopgirl appeared in the midst of controversies over sexual morality and the pleasures and dangers of London itself. Sanders explores the shopgirl's centrality to modern conceptions of fantasy, desire, and everyday life for working women and argues for her as a key figure in cultural and social histories of the period. This study will appeal to scholars, students, and enthusiasts of Victorian and Edwardian life and literature."--BOOK JACKET.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Literary Criticism
Author Book : Lise Sanders
Publisher : Ohio State University Press
Release Book : 2006
Download Book : 279 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780814210178


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Anna Abner
Publisher :
Release Book : 2020-06-18
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 1735237353


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

AS WAR APPROACHES, WILL HER LOVE GUIDE HIM HOME? Southampton, 1905 Young Ellie-May and Jack are best friends, having grown up together on the same street and been inseparable since birth. But when Jack and his mother are forced into the workhouse, the pair are separated. Reunited years later aged 16, Ellie-May and Jack fall in love and plan to marry. But when WWI approaches, once again they are torn apart as Jack enlists to fight. As the years pass, Ellie-May and Jack continue to fight to be together while being torn apart by circumstances beyond their control. Will they finally find their happiness? And will it be together? A brand new wartime family saga, perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Rosie Goodwin and Val Wood

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Karen Dickson
Publisher :
Release Book : 2020-03-19
Download Book : 480 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1471185494


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This book is part of the TREDITION CLASSICS series. The creators of this series are united by passion for literature and driven by the intention of making all public domain books available in printed format again - worldwide. At tredition we believe that a great book never goes out of style. Several mostly non-profit literature projects provide content to tredition. To support their good work, tredition donates a portion of the proceeds from each sold copy. As a reader of a TREDITION CLASSICS book, you support our mission to save many of the amazing works of world literature from oblivion.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : C. N. (Charles Norris) Williamson
Publisher : tredition
Release Book : 2012-02-07
Download Book : 259 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9783847201922


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Wilbur Braun
Publisher : Samuel French, Inc.
Release Book : 1968
Download Book : 48 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0573622086