Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Investigates the history and continuing evolution of American English, from the 16th century to the present, to celebrate the endless variety and remarkable inventiveness that have always been at the heart of our language. By the author of Images of English: A Cultural History of the Language.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author Book : Richard W. Bailey
Publisher : OUP USA
Release Book : 2012-01-23
Download Book : 207 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780195179347


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can predict the zip code of where you grew up? Speaking American offers a visual atlas of the American vernacular--who says what, and where they say it--revealing the history of our nation, our regions, and the language that divides and unites us.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author Book : Josh Katz
Publisher : Mariner Books
Release Book : 2020-09
Download Book : 224 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0358359937


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the creator of the New York Times dialect quiz that ignited conversations about how and why we say the words we say, a stunning and delightful exploration of American language Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can reveal where you grew up? In December 2013, Josh Katz released an interactive dialect quiz in the New York Times that became the most viewed page in the paper's history. Now a graphics editor, Katz harnessed the overwhelming response to that quiz to create Speaking American, an extraordinary and beautiful tour through the American vernacular. How do you pronounce "pecan"? What do you call a long sandwich with varieties of meats and cheeses? Do you cut the grass or mow the lawn? The answers to these questions—and the distinctions they reveal about who says what and where they say it—are not just the ultimate in cocktail party fodder; they are also windows into the history of our nation, our regions, and our language. On page after page, readers will be fascinated and charmed by these stunning maps of how Americans speak as they gain new insights into our language and ourselves. For fans of Eats, Shoots and Leaves and How the States Got Their Shapes, Speaking American is an irresistible feast of American regional speech.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Social Science
Author Book : Josh Katz
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Book : 2016-10-25
Download Book : 224 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780544702523


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

When Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Bilingual Education Act of 1968, language learning became a touchstone in the emerging culture wars. Nowhere was this more apparent than in Los Angeles, where elected officials from both political parties had supported the legislation, and where the most disruptive protests over it occurred. The city, with its diverse population of Latinos and Asian Americans, is the ideal locus for Zevi Gutfreund’s study of how language instruction informed the social construction of American citizenship. Combining the history of language instruction, school desegregation, and civil rights activism as it unfolded in Japanese American and Mexican American communities in L.A., this timely book clarifies the critical and evolving role of language instruction in twentieth-century American politics. Speaking American reveals how, for generations, language instruction offered a forum for Angelino educators to articulate their responses to policies that racialized access to citizenship—from the “national origins” immigration quotas of the Progressive Era through Congress’s removal of race from these quotas in 1965. Meanwhile, immigrant communities designed language experiments to counter efforts to limit their liberties. Gutfreund’s book is the first to place the experiences of Mexican Americans and Japanese Americans side by side as they navigated debates over Americanization programs, intercultural education, school desegregation, and bilingual education. In the process, the book shows, these language experiments helped Angelino immigrants introduce competing concepts of citizenship that were tied to their actions and deeds rather than to the English language itself. Complicating the usual top-down approach to the history of racial politics in education, Speaking American recognizes the ways in which immigrant and ethnic activists, as well as white progressives and conservatives, have been deeply invested in controlling public and private aspects of language instruction in Los Angeles. The book brings compelling analytic depth and breadth to its examination of the social and political landscape in a city still at the epicenter of American immigration politics.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Education
Author Book : Zevi Gutfreund
Publisher : University of Oklahoma Press
Release Book : 2019-03-07
Download Book : 308 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780806163567


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can predict the zip code of where you grew up? In 2013 Josh Katz accumulated and visually mapped over 350,000 unique survey responses to questions about word choice and pronunciation throughout America. His dialect quiz quickly became the most viewed webpage in the history of the New York Times. InSpeaking AmericanKatz offers a visual atlas of the American vernacular who says what, and where they say it revealing the history of our nation, our regions, and our language."

Product Details :

Genre Book : Social Science
Author Book : Josh Katz
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
Release Book : 2016-10-25
Download Book : 224 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0544703391


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Argues that the Democratic party has lost its voice on the issues important to the middle class, and analyzes the failures of the Mondale and Dukakis presidential campaigns

Product Details :

Genre Book : Communication in politics
Author Book : David Kusnet
Publisher :
Release Book : 1992-01-01
Download Book : 240 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1560250275


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Hispanic Americans
Author Book : United States. Office of Education. Office for Spanish Speaking American Affairs
Publisher :
Release Book : 1970
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : IND:30000090589155


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This first study provides illuminating insights in to America's preeminent Yankee Radical and his concepts.

Product Details :

Genre Book : History
Author Book : Robert A. Gorman
Publisher : Psychology Press
Release Book : 1995
Download Book : 243 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0415911184


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Hispanic Americans
Author Book : United States. Congress. House. Committee on Post Office and Civil Service. Subcommittee on Census and Statistics
Publisher :
Release Book : 1974
Download Book : 189 Pages
ISBN-10 : UOM:39015081117437


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : United States. Congress. House. Post Office and Civil Service Committee
Publisher :
Release Book : 1974
Download Book : 189 Pages
ISBN-10 : STANFORD:36105045535494