Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

'The life-affirming grown-up fable we all need . . . Jane Smiley has created a world where kindness is king' – Washington Independent Review 'Smiley has started to look like the best living American novelist' – Observer 'Delightful, heartwarming . . . An especially welcome reminder of the bright spots even in dark times' – NPR Paras is a spirited young racehorse living in a stable in the French countryside. That is until one afternoon when she pushes open the gate of her stall and, travelling through the night, arrives quite by chance in the dazzling streets of Paris. She soon meets a German shorthaired pointer named Frida, two irrepressible ducks and an opinionated crow, and life amongst the animals in the city’s lush green spaces is enjoyable for a time. But everything changes when Paras meets a human boy, Étienne, and discovers a new, otherworldly part of Paris: the secluded, ivy-walled house where the boy and his nearly one-hundred-year-old great-grandmother live quietly and keep to themselves. As the cold weather of Christmas nears, the unlikeliest of friendships blooms between human and animals. But how long can a runaway horse live undiscovered in Paris? And how long can one boy keep her all to himself? Charming and beguiling in equal measure, Jane Smiley’s novel celebrates the intrinsic need for friendship, love and freedom, whoever you may be . . . From Jane Smiley, the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Thousand Acres, The Strays of Paris is a captivating story of a group of extraordinary animals – and one little boy – whose lives cross paths in Paris.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jane Smiley
Publisher : Pan Macmillan
Release Book : 2020-12-10
Download Book : Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781529053005


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Thousand Acres, Jane Smiley, The Strays of Paris is a captivating story of three extraordinary animals – and one little boy – whose lives cross paths in Paris. Paras is a spirited young racehorse living in a stable in the French countryside. That is until one afternoon, when she pushes open the gate of her stall and, travelling through the night, arrives quite by chance in the dazzling streets of Paris. She soon meets a German shorthaired pointer named Frida, two irrepressible ducks and an opinionated crow, and life amongst the animals in the city’s lush green spaces is enjoyable for a time. But everything changes when Paras meets a human boy, Étienne, and discovers a new, otherworldly part of Paris: the secluded, ivy-walled house where the boy and his nearly-one-hundred-year-old great grandmother live quietly and unto themselves. As the cold weather of Christmas nears, the unlikeliest of friendships bloom among humans and animals alike. But how long can a runaway horse live undiscovered in Paris? And how long can one boy keep her all to himself? Charming and beguiling in equal measure, Jane Smiley’s novel celebrates the intrinsic need for friendship, love, and freedom, whomever you may be . . .

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jane Smiley
Publisher : Mantle
Release Book : 2020-12-08
Download Book : 288 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781760984564


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jane Smiley
Publisher :
Release Book : 2021-09-16
Download Book : 320 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1529052998


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

INSTANT NATIONAL BEST SELLER “If you’re looking for a feel-good escape, try this.” —The New York Times From the Pulitzer Prize-winning and best-selling author: a captivating, brilliantly imaginative story of three extraordinary animals--and a young boy--whose lives intersect in Paris. Paras, short for "Perestroika," is a spirited racehorse at a racetrack west of Paris. One afternoon at dusk, she finds the door of her stall open and--she's a curious filly--wanders all the way to the City of Light. She's dazzled and often mystified by the sights, sounds, and smells around her, but she isn't afraid. Soon she meets an elegant dog, a German shorthaired pointer named Frida, who knows how to get by without attracting the attention of suspicious Parisians. Paras and Frida coexist for a time in the city's lush green spaces, nourished by Frida's strategic trips to the vegetable market. They keep company with two irrepressible ducks and an opinionated raven. But then Paras meets a human boy, Etienne, and discovers a new, otherworldly part of Paris: the ivy-walled house where the boy and his nearly-one-hundred-year-old great-grandmother live in seclusion. As the cold weather nears, the unlikeliest of friendships bloom. But how long can a runaway horse stay undiscovered in Paris? How long can a boy keep her hidden and all to himself? Jane Smiley's beguiling new novel is itself an adventure that celebrates curiosity, ingenuity, and the desire of all creatures for true love and freedom.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jane Smiley
Publisher : Knopf
Release Book : 2020-12-01
Download Book : 288 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9780525520368


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITOR'S CHOICE For readers of Atonement, a hauntingly powerful story about the fierce friendship between three sisters and their friend as they grow up on the outskirts of their parents' wild and bohemian artistic lives. On her first day at a new school, Lily befriends Eva and her sisters Beatrice and Heloise, daughters of the infamous avant-garde painter Evan Trentham. An only child from an unremarkable, working-class family, Lily has never experienced a household like the Trenthams'--a community of like-minded artists Evan and his wife have created, all living and working together to escape the stifling conservatism of 1930's Australia. And Lily has never met anyone like Eva, whose unabashed confidence and worldly knowledge immediately draw her in. Infatuated by the creative chaos of the Trenthams and the artists who orbit them, Lily aches to fully belong in their world, craving something beyond her own ordinary life. She becomes a fixture in their home, where she and Eva spend their days lounging in the garden, filching cigarettes and wine, and skirting the fringes of the adults' glamorous lives, who create scandalous art during the day and host lavish, debauched parties by night. But as seductive as the artists' utopian vision appears, behind it lies both darkness and dysfunction. And the further the girls are pulled in, the greater the consequences become. With elegance and vibrancy, THE STRAYS evokes the intense bonds of girlhood friendships, the volatile undercurrents of a damaged family, and the yearning felt by an outsider looking in. PRAISE FOR THE STRAYS "Disturbing and magical....with a grace and eloquence." - NPR Books "Full of lush, mesmerizing detail and keen insight into the easy intimacy between young girls which disappears with adulthood." - The New Yorker "THE STRAYS is a knowing novel, and beautifully done." - Meg Wolitzer, New York Times bestselling author of The Interestings

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Emily Bitto
Publisher : Twelve
Release Book : 2017-01-03
Download Book : 256 Pages
ISBN-10 : 9781455537709


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Genre Book : Africa, Central
Author Book : Henry Morton Stanley
Publisher : Dawson Bros.
Release Book : 1872
Download Book : 736 Pages
ISBN-10 : STANFORD:36105004662073


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A roaring, rollicking, foot-stomping farce. Ketchup Soup is an epic, and at times ribald, comedy about the lovable James Reichardt, a verbose junior copywriter who's just landed his first job at a sleepy advertising agency in New Orleans. Part genius, part naive miscreant, James suffers from illusions of grandeur, not the least of which are the beliefs that business is the key to happiness and that he is Caesar reincarnated. In his first 364 days in the Big Easy he'll join forces with the many colorful characters of the city to bring down the ad agency, swear allegiance to art and lead a revolt against capitalism at the height of Mardis Gras. A tale that is both hilarious and heartfelt, Ketchup Soup is the side-splitting story of one young man's journey through the nonconformists and dank back alleys of New Orleans.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : James Houck
Publisher : CreateSpace
Release Book : 2011-07-08
Download Book : 504 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1453746382


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This is the magical tale of Edith Lane, who sets off to find her fortune in the beautiful city of Paris. Fortune, however, is a fickle thing and Edith ends up working in a vintage bakery in the positively antique town of Compi�gne. Escaping heartache and singledom in Ireland, Edith discovers that the bakery on Rue De Paris is not exactly what it seems and that some ghosts from the past are harder to escape than others. A heart-warming story that is sure to appeal to all of the senses, The Mysterious Bakery On Rue De Paris is a mouth-watering journey of love, liberty and la vie en rose.

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Evie Gaughan
Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Release Book : 2017-04
Download Book : 198 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1545055009


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In 33 Bits, a gold charm bracelet tangibly records the adventure, friendships, love, and disappointment experienced by a young American woman during a life-changing journey to England.

Product Details :

Genre Book : Fiction
Author Book : Jane Bash
Publisher : Booksurge Publishing
Release Book : 2009-10-01
Download Book : 388 Pages
ISBN-10 : 1439248508


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

To foil a killer Madame Lune must walk in his shoes, enter his evil mind, and eventually learn to kill... Who is the mysterious Madame Lune and why has watching Rue Lepic become a terrifying obsession for her? To the ordinary observer, Rue Lepic is a colourful street that meanders and climbs the northern part of Paris, from the Moulin Rouge in Pigalle's red light district to Montmartre, where stands the lofty basilica of Sacre Coeur. It is full of character and characters, with its open-air markets and traders, street cleaners and concierges. It plays host to waves of tourists teaming past cafés, restaurants and souvenir shops. There is, however, something else lurking beneath the layers of everyday life that lures the scrutiny of Madame Lune and fills her with fear. In their midst is another watcher-a monster who prowls the district. He is a killer-a serial killer, and he has identified his next victim.

Product Details :

Genre Book :
Author Book : Kathleen Curtin
Publisher : Open Books Publishing (UK)
Release Book : 2015-05-27
Download Book : 274 Pages
ISBN-10 : 0692434100